

2024 LEADERSHIP DIRECTORY

This directory lists the Pastors, the Ruling Elders on the Session, and the Board of Deacons of Gaithersburg Presbyterian Church (GPC). These spiritual leaders of GPC are elected by the congregation and ordained to serve in accordance with the PC(USA) Book of Order. The directory also specifies committee/ministry assignments and chairs. Contact information for those listed in this directory is available from the church office.

GPC PASTORS

GPC's Pastors are ordained to the role of Teaching Elder. Presbyterians select their own pastors, with the guidance and concurrence of presbytery.



Rev. LeAnn Hodges Transitional Pastor



Rev. Mary Beth Lawrence Associate Pastor/Head of Staff

GPC RULING ELDERS

GPC has 15 Ruling Elders, who discern and measure the congregation's fidelity to the Word of God, and strengthen and nurture its faith and life. As persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, with demonstrated leadership skills and a compassionate spirit, they serve to exercise government, leadership, spiritual discernment, and discipline. They have responsibilities for the life of the congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships. Ruling Elders are elected to a 3-year term and are GPC members.



Buildings and Grounds Annette Ward, Chair





Communications
Lucille Baur, Chair*
Paul Whitehead, Session Liaison





Community Engagement
Denise Schleckser, Chair*
Alice Alexander, Session Liaison







Congregational Life Laurie Wallace-Lanham, Chair Joseph Tormen Nana Tom Chen





Equipping DisciplesGayle Luckenbaugh, Chair
Emmanuel Mbaiti





Human ResourcesGary Aller, Chair
Joelle Pokam





Matthew 25 Racial Justice Donna Dannels, Chair* Pat Keziah, Session Liaison



Edge Kaunda

Nominating Nominating

Elisa McClelland, Chair



StewardshipPaul Whitehead, Chair



Vital Worship Kofi Kumi, Chair



At LargeVanlalhriatrenga "VLC"
Vanlal Chhangte

Steven C. Ward* – Treasurer
Ann Hayes* – Clerk of Session

*Not currently a member of Session

GPC BOARD OF DEACONS

GPC's Deacons coordinate the various care ministries at GPC and minister to those in the community of faith who are sick, friendless, in need, and in distress. They also lead in worship by serving communion and perform other duties as delegated and assigned by the Session. Deacons are elected to a 3-year term, are GPC members, and are under the authority of the Session.



Jeanne Chamberlain Class of 2025



Bob Gunderson Class of 2024



Kate Lebold Class of 2024



Susan Morris Class of 2026



Georgina Ofori-Obeng Class of 2026



Lucil OppongClass of 2025



Debonnaire Tchouambou Class of 2025



Lisa Whitehead Class of 2024



Marcellin Womeku Class of 2026



© **2024 Gaithersburg Presbyterian Church** 610 South Frederick Avenue • Gaithersburg, MD 20877 301-948-9418



^{*}Not currently a member of Session