

# 2022 Leadership Directory

This directory lists the Pastors, the Ruling Elders on the Session, the Board of Deacons, and the Board of Trustees of Gaithersburg Presbyterian Church (GPC). These spiritual leaders of GPC are elected by the congregation and ordained to serve in accordance with the PC(USA) Book of Order. The directory also specifies committee/ministry assignments and chairs/co-chairs.

# GPC Pastors/Teaching Elders —

GPC has two pastors ordained to the role of Teaching Elder. Presbyterians select their own pastors, with the guidance and concurrence of presbytery.



**Rev. Mary Austin** Senior Pastor



**Rev. Mary Beth Lawrence** Associate Pastor

# GPC Ruling Elders \_\_\_\_\_

GPC has 18 ruling elders, who discern and measure the congregation's fidelity to the Word of God, and strengthen and nurture its faith and life. As persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, with demonstrated leadership skills and a compassionate spirit, they serve to exercise government, leadership, spiritual discernment, and discipline. They have responsibilities for the life of the congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships. Ruling elders are elected to a 3-year term and must be members of GPC.



**Rosina Akueson** At-Large



David Allsopp Chair, Buildings and Grounds



**Asenath Asang** Congregational Life



Carol Vandrey Curtis Chair, Nominating



**Donna Dannels** Community Engagement



**Grace Atanga Fuh** Chair, Vital Worship

Kay Penn – Stated Clerk of Session Ann Hayes – Assistant Stated Clerk Steven C. Ward – Treasurer



Andy Imboden Chair, Equipping Disciples



**Patrick J. Keziah** Stewardship and Planned Giving



**Emmanuel Yang Mbaiti** Digital Ministry



Joseph Tormen Nana Congregational Life



**Grace Ndjongo** Stewardship and Planned Giving



Lucy Nzelle Chair, Human Resources

Non-elder committee/ministry chairs and co-chair: JoAnn Barney – Chair, Congregational Life Lucille Baur – Chair, Communications Phil Melberg – Co-chair, Stewardship and Planned Giving Denise Schleckser – Chair, Community Engagement



Raymond Raven Chair, Finance



Keith Rush Co-chair, Stewardship and Planned Giving



**Akiko Taketani** Equipping Disciples



Laurie Wallace-Lanham Congregational Life



Annette Ward Community Engagement



**Terry Young** Chair, Digital Ministry



GPC's deacons coordinate the various care ministries at GPC and minister to those in the community of faith who are sick, friendless, in need, and in distress. They also lead in worship by serving communion and perform other duties as delegated and assigned by the Session. Deacons are elected to a 3-year term, must be members of GPC, and are under the authority of the Session.



Jocelyne Amewu



Donna Gregory



Marilyn Morrison



Kevin Coit



**Bob Gunderson** 



Janis Rex



Patricia Cummings



Kate Lebold



Lisa Whitehead

## GPC Board of Trustees -

GPC's trustees represent the congregation in legal matters. Trustees are elected to a 3-year term, must be members of GPC, and are subject to the authority of the Session.



#### Jerry Brown



#### Nancy Sanders



© 2022 Gaithersburg Presbyterian Church 610 South Frederick Avenue • Gaithersburg, MD 20877 301-948-9418



### **Francie Whitlock**

Contact information for those listed in this directory is available from the church office.